

Meeting Minutes:

Tuesday, May 14, 2024 Online Zoom Meeting

P	r	es	e	n	t	:
_	_	•	_		•	٠

Abrams, Jenny Albright, Dallas Allen Woody, Jennifer Bagley, Sydney Baughman, David Bennah, Noni Bennett, Jennifer Best, Douglas Boone, Laura Borgic, Kevin Bourgoin, Jeremy Brown, Tonya Burroughs, Machalia Bush, Marita Carroll, Sara Chai, Pearl Champion, Brittany Conwell, Patrick Coradazzi, Danny

Cornwell, Cassandra

Cummings, Kenedee

Dixon, Amanda

Eubanks, Lyn

Fogg, Christine Gyarmati, Krista Higgins, Ed Hollifield, Michael Jasper, Shaun Keever, Jeffrey Kole, Brenda Kurilko, Rachel Lampley, Cassanora Lawrence Givens, Tiffany Long, Madeline Maddox, Lynn Manlove, Sharon Manning, Katherine Maraniss, Andrew McKeever-Burgett, Adam Moody, Chanc'e Musick, Margaret Noote, Allie Notestine, Wesley Osa-Oni, Raven Perkins, Anissa Peters, Erin

Porter, Abby

Poteete, Sarah

Price, Amber Pring, Michael Putnam, Sara Reed, Haley Rivas, Beth Sierra, Bryn Smith, LaDonna Wang, Joanne Weeks, Daravanh Wilson, Maisie

Zuckerwise-Causton, Simon

Not Present: Bahrt, Emily Benitone, Hastings Bergheger, Claudia Bishop, Faith Broadrick, Troy Brust, Valerie Bumpas, Elizabeth Butner, Sean Carroll, Chantry Cope, Sara Crowhurst, Stacey

Crutchfield, Savannah

Dawson, T. Renee

Dickson, Nancy Dixon, Michele

Farst, Paige
Foggie, Christina
Gibbons, Sarah
Gilmore, Alana
Gladu, William
Griffin, Brittany
Herndon, Roger
Jackson, Crystal

Kamtarin, Shahpar Karns, Allen

Knighton, Keeouka Masters, Richmond Mitchell, Heather Moore, La Tisha Perry, Caitlyn Poston, McKenzie

Pratt, Jeremy Rice, Marquita Ryon, Chance Schuerlein, Wendy

Smith, Amy

Sumlin, Alicia Taiman, Matt

Taylor, Susan Tift, Mary Beth

Turner, Kimberly Weissinger, Jeffrey

Guests:

Adams, Laura Adams, Aubrey Alini, Evan

Andrews, Stacey Arizaga, Emily Blakely, James Bonner, Stacey Bush, Haley Cesarone, Amy Connolley, Carter

Coppinger, Whitney

Cummings, Eric Erickson, Brian French, Maddie Garrett, Kaitlyn Gentry, Joe Gibson, Madison Hanna, Julie – Guest Speaker Harding, Amanda

Hyer, Nick Jones, Kara

Jones, Pam - Guest

Harrison, Kimberly

Speaker Kelly, John

Lambert, Michael Landrum, James Leibowitz, Miriam

Liebman, Paul

Morris, Morgan
Pastrana, Mikey
Puckett, Mike
Richter, Andy
Ross, Kylie
Rucker, Cleo –
Guest Speaker
Smithson, Carmen
Stoecklein, Phillip
Svennevik, Emily

Viviano, Kim

Wilhelm, Anita

WELCOME

Adam McKeever-Burgett, President, called the Meeting to order at 8:33 am

Review of the Agenda

- Julie Hanna
- Cleo Rucker
- Pam Jordan
- USAC Executive Elections
- USAC Announcements and Business

Keynote Speakers

- Julie Hanna Benefits Operations Manager in HR
 - Changes in Benefits Empyrean starting July 1
 - changes being made to benefits administration beginning July 1.
 - Those updates include a new benefits administrator, a new process for dependent verification, and the migration of flexible spending accounts to Fidelity.
- Associate Vice Chancellor and Chief Human Resources Officer Cleo Rucker and Associate Vice Chancellor for Health and Wellness
 - Employee Affinity Groups (EAGs) at Vanderbilt.
 - EAGs at Vanderbilt are employee-led groups formed around interests, backgrounds, identities, and common bonds.
 - There are now <u>fifteen EAGs at Vanderbilt</u>, with new groups forming each summer.
- USAC Officer Elections
 - New leadership elected for the 2024-2025 year.
 - USAC Officers Jennifer Bennett (Vice-President/President-elect), Danny
 Coradazzi (Treasurer), and Lynn Maddox (Secretary), will join incoming President
 Sara Putnam in USAC leadership beginning July 1.

USAC Business

Minutes

• March and April Minutes – approved.

Announcements

- Employee Critical Support Fund:
 - The Employee Critical Support Fund, previously called the Employee Hardship Fund, was
 established in 1994 to financially assist Vanderbilt faculty and staff who are experiencing
 a non-recurring sudden or emergency-related financial hardship due to an unforeseen
 or unavoidable event.

- Vanderbilt Giving Day donations resulted in a total for the year of 66 donors and \$4590.56 received.
- 541% increase in donations and 733% increase in donors
- Fall Incentive Campaign \$2359; 25 donors
- Payroll Deduction Campaign 15 donors
- Giving Day \$3362; 40 donors
- · Increase in families and households supporting via Kroger
- Curious Bar
 - Every Wednesday; 11 AM 1 PM
 - An employee hub for personalized and support and innovation
 - No appointment necessary; just pop in
- Facilities University
 - 6 weeks beginning June 5-July 24

Committee Reports:

• Thank you to all Committee Co-Chairs!

Communications Committee:

- Co-Chairs:
 - o Faith Bishop and Alana Gilmore
- Tip of the Month Did *YOU* Know?
 - May Highlighting Events and General Knowledge Items
 - Spring Communications Campaign
 - ELE Workshops
 - Invitation to Choose How You Move with Mayor Freddie O'Connell
 - Reminder to Update Personal Devices
 - Attend Spring Staff Assembly
 - Congratulations Graduates!
- Remember to share your department's information to USAC's social media Instagram, Twitter/X.
- Next Meeting: TBA

EDI Committee:

- Co-Chairs:
 - Cassanora Lampley and Raven Osa-Oni
- Ongoing Projects
 - Data has been collected will be reviewed over the summer
- Heritage Month Spotlight May
 - Mental Health Awareness
- Next Meeting: TBA

Events Committee:

- Co-Chairs:
 - Michael Hollifield and Sara Carroll
- Events
 - Happy Hour
 - May 14, 2024; 4 PM 6 PM; HiFi Clyde's 1700 Church Street
 - USAC Table at Spring Staff Assembly; sign up for a shift 2:15 5 PM

• Next meeting: May 21; 9 AM via Teams

Membership Committee:

- Co-Chairs:
 - o Christine Fogg and Krista Gyarmati
- 2024 Election Timeline
- Birthdays May:
 - David Baughman, Faith Bishop, Kevin Borgic, Patrick Cornwell, Renee Dawson, Michele Dixon, Ed Higgins, Brenda Kole, Allie Noote, Beth Rivas, Matt Taiman
- Meet a Member:
 - Jeffrey Keever, Faculty and Academic Affairs Coordinator, College of Arts and Science Dean's Office
- Next Meeting: May 28, 10:00 AM, via Teams

Rules and Administration:

- Co-Chairs:
 - o Sean Butner and Amy Smith
- No Report
- Next meeting: TBD

Staff Life

- Co-Chairs:
 - o Jennifer Bennett, Jeremy Bourgoin, Danny Coradazzi
- Ongoing Initiatives:
 - Summary of Issues and staff concerns
- Next Meeting: May 15; 1 PM via Teams.

Next Meetings:

- Tuesday, June 11, 2024
 - In Person and Via Zoom 8:30-10 AM
 - Email: usac@vanderbilt.edu
 - Central Library Community Room
 - Featuring
 - USAC Awards
 - Vice Chancellor Sydney Savion

ADJOURN

Adam McKeever-Burgett, President, adjourned the Meeting at 9:58 am.

USAC Vision: Through communication, consultation, and service, the Council will promote a strong partnership among the staff, faculty, students, and administration of Vanderbilt University.