Skip to main content

Immersion Vanderbilt

The Immersion Vanderbilt Initiative calls for all university undergraduates to immerse themselves in creative independent projects that give them the opportunity to engage, question and forge change. The parameters of Immersion Vanderbilt are to be kept broad and flexible, so students have the opportunity to work with a faculty mentor to forge a project that has the capacity to shape them for the rest of their lives.

AY '16-17 Committee Members

  • John Geer, vice provost for academic and strategic affairs; Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of Political Science; chair;
  • Bruce Barry, Brownlee O. Currey, Jr. Professor of Management, Owen Graduate School of Management;
  • Vanessa Beasley, dean, Martha Rivers Ingram Commons; associate professor, communication studies;
  • Cynthia Brame, assistant director, Center for Teaching; senior lecturer, biological sciences;
  • Kate Brooks, Evans Family Executive Director, Career Center;
  • Andre Christie-Mizell, senior associate dean of undergraduate education, College of Arts & Science; associate professor, sociology;
  • Cynthia Cyrus, vice provost for learning and residential affairs; professor of musicology, Blair School of Music;
  • Aurelio Galli, professor, molecular physiology and biophysics, School of Medicine;
  • Christopher Loss, associate professor, public policy and higher education, Peabody College;
  • Elizabeth Meadows, assistant director, Curb Center; senior lecturer, English;
  • Greg Melchor-Barz, professor of musicology, Blair School of Music; faculty head of house, Martha Rivers Ingram Commons; 
  • Dan Morgan, associate dean, College of Arts & Science; senior lecturer, earth & environmental sciences;
  • Bart Quinet, University Registrar;
  • Erin Rodgers, assistant professor, School of Nursing;
  • Phillis Sheppard, associate professor, religion, psychology and culture, Divinity School;
  • Brent Tener, Director, Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships;
  • Mike Vandenbergh, David Daniels Allen Distinguished Chair in Law, Law School; and
  • Thomas Withrow, assistant dean for design, School of Engineering; associate professor of the practice of mechanical engineering.

Graduate Assistant:  Connor Deason, Peabody College

AY '15-16 Immersion Committee


To offer feedback, you may email any of the committees members or submit to the Strategic Plan leadership directly by using this form.

Immersion End of Year Report 2014-2015


Laboratory Science Immersion Subcommittee