Skip to main content

Vanderbilt Environmental Health and Safety (VEHS)

The main goal of Vanderbilt Environmental Health & Safety (VEHS) is to facilitate and promote safety, health, and environmental management by providing educational and customer services that support environmental sustainability and protection.

For more information on Vanderbilt's commitment to ensuring environmental health and safety in its research, please view the VEHS official Commitment Statement and Policy.

For a list of VEHS Departmental Training, please click here.

EHS Oversight Committees

Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)

The main task of the RSC is to ensure that radioactive material, licensed under the broadscope radioactive material license, and ionizing radiation-producing equipment are used safely and in compliance with state and federal regulations, broadscope license conditions, and certified registrations.

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The IBC is responsible for:

  • Overseeing all research involving recombinant DNA molecules
  • Establishing policies and procedures
  • Ensuring that this recombinant DNA research is conducted in accordance with NIH guidelines and that it is registered with the Vanderbilt University IBC
  • Reviewing and approving research conducted with microor ganisms that are pathogenic to humans, plants, or animals
  • Providing guidance to the Vanderbilt research community regarding proper acquisition, handling, transfer, and disposal of potentially hazardous or regulated biological materials

For more information on shipping and receiving biological materials, please click here.

Chemical Safety Committee (CSC)

The CSC is responsible for:

  • Managing and enforcing the chemical safety program
  • Establishing policies and procedures
  • Overseeing the establishment of Chemical Hygiene Plans (CHP)
  • Addressing chemical safety problems
  • Formulating solutions and reviews
  • Approving protocols involving hazardous chemicals

Contact Directory

  Lead Day-to-day Contact
VUMC John Manning
Robert Wheaton
615-343-0758 | e-mail
VU Padma Raghavan
615-322-6155 | e-mail
Janiece Harrison
615-322-1722 | e-mail
RSC Christopher Helstern
615-343-2533 | e-mail
IBC Robin Trudy
615-322-0927 | e-mail
CSC Kevin Warren
615-322-0925 | e-mail