Skip to main content

University Library Committee

Maintaining and promoting the welfare of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library System is the charge of the newly-established University Library Committee. With representation from each of Vanderbilt's schools and colleges, as well as the faculty senate, the committee will guide the strategic direction of the library to ensure that it best supports the research and teaching needs of the university within the context of the Academic Strategic Plan. Committee members will also serve as advocates for the library to the university community as the library works to grow the scope and stature of its campus presence.

University Library Committee Membership

  • Joy Calico, Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair, professor of musicology, Blair School of Music; chair;
  • Jada Benn Torres, associate professor, anthropology, College of Arts and Science;
  • Michael Burcham, senior lecturer, entrepreneurship, Owen Graduate School of Management;
  • Chin Chiang, professor, cell and developmental biology, School of Medicine;
  • Cynthia Cyrus, vice provost for learning and residential affairs, professor of musicology, affiliated faculty in women's and gender studies, Office of the Provost; ex officio; 
  • Juan Floyd-Thomas, associate professor, African American religious history, College of Arts and Science;
  • Leor Halevi, associate professor, history, College of Arts and Science;
  • Valerie Hotchkiss, university librarian, Jean and Alexander Heard Library;
  • Ann Neely, associate professor of the practice, teaching and learning, Peabody College;
  • Bridget Rogers, associate professor, chemical and biomolecular engineering, School of Engineering;
  • Jim Rossi, director, program in law and government, associate dean for research, professor of law, School of Law;
  • Anderson Spickard, assistant dean, educational design and technology, associate professor of medicine, associate professor of biomedical informatics, School of Medicine;
  • Jannyse Starks, instructor, School of Nursing;
  • Rachel Teukolsky, associate professor, English, College of Arts and Science; and
  • Norman Tolk, professor, physics and astronomy, College of Arts and Science.