Skip to main content

Traffic & Parking Standing Committee


The main functions of the Traffic & Parking Committee are 1) to reflect various consumer opinions on parking and transportation within the Vanderbilt community, 2) to review general policies and procedures concerning University parking arrangements (including parking assignments and plans) and advise the Vice Chancellor for Administration as needed, 3) to support Parking Services by reviewing appeals of parking citations, and 4) to review and disseminate information regarding parking policies, temporary changes because of special events and construction, and alternative transportation initiatives

Reports to: Vice Chancellor for Administration

2017-2018 Committee Members

Administrative/Ex Officio Members

  • Eric Kopstain, vice chancellor of administration, administration
  • Mike Perez, associate vice chancellor, chief facilities officer, administration;
  • Davis Strange, director, parking services and law enforcement systems, police department;
  • August Washington, associate vice chancellor and chief of police, administration;
  • Robert Waits, Landscape Architect

Faculty Members

  • Andy Van Schaack, associate dean for online programs, principal senior lecturer, human and organizational development, Peabody College; chair;
  • Brian Bachmann, professor, chemistry, College of Arts and Science;
  • Mark Cannon, director, undergraduate studies, associate professor, education leadership, Peabody College;
  • Luke Froeb, William C. Oehmig Chair of Free Enterprise and Entrepreneurship, Owen Graduate School of Management;
  • Tyler Nelson, associate professor, voice, Blair School of Music;
  • Susanna Rudy, instructor, nursing, School of Nursing;
  • Linda Sealy, director, Vanderbilt Initiative for Maximizing Student Diversity, assistant professor, molecular physiology and biophysics, School of Medicine;
  • Matt Tyska, scientific director, cell imaging shared resource, professor, cell and developmental biology, School of Medicine;


  • Kathy Carney, Plant Operations;
  • Cliff Wilson, Operator Services
  • Jeff Loudon,  Academic Relationship;
  • Anthony C. Tharp, School of Medicine administration;


  • Carin Brown, professional;
  • Ryan Connor, undergraduate;
  • Samuel Defabrizio, undergraduate;
  • Meredith Frazier, graduate;
  • Molly Gupta, undergraduate;
  • Flozell Roberts, graduate;
  • Jerom Theunissen, undergraduate; and
  • Andrew Wiese, graduate.