Skip to main content

Benefits Standing Committee


Review and recommend new and proposed changes to the University’s benefit program provided to the University’s faculty and staff. The faculty and staff composition is intended to provide multiple perspectives regarding the design for benefit programs. The committee will develop recommendations based on review and analysis of available utilization data, in consideration of specific program objectives and available financial resources for funding programs.

Reports to: Vice Chancellor for Administration

2017-2018 Committee Members

Administrative/Ex Officio Members

  • Terri Armstrong, director, benefits operations and systems, HR benefits;
  • Barbara Carroll, associate vice chancellor and chief human resources officer, university services executive administration;
  • Lori Hemmer, chief of staff, Office of the Chancellor;
  • Eric Kopstain, vice chancellor for administration, administration;
  • Candice Lee, associate vice chancellor for university affairs, deputy athletics director, athletics;
  • Melissa Wocher, administrative director, Office of the Dean, College of Arts and Science;
  • Catherine Wood, executive director of university benefits, HR administration;

Faculty Members

  • Chin Chiang, professor, cell and developmental biology, School of Medicine;
  • Brian Heuser, faculty senate member, assistant professor of the practice, international education policy, Peabody College;
  • Becky Keck, senior associate dean of administration and operations, chief administrative officer, School of Nursing;
  • Sal March, David K. Wilson Professor of Management, Owen Graduate School of Management;
  • Graham Reside, executive director, Cal Turner Program in Moral Leadership for the Professions, associate professor, Divinity School;
  • William H. Robinson, faculty senate representative, associate dean, associate professor, electrical and computer engineering; School of Engineering;
  • Mel Ziegler, Paul E. Shwab Chair in Fine Arts, College of Arts and Science;


  • John Brassil, Tech Services;
  • Eric Jones, Student Athletics;
  • Emily Korab, School of Medicine; and
  • Anna Thomas, Office of the Dean of Students.