



# UNIVERSITY STAFF ADVISORY COUNCIL



# Meeting Minutes: Tuesday, June 8, 2021 **Online Zoom Meeting**

Perry, Will

#### **Present:**

Best, Douglas Cedzich, Michele Clair Brigman, Clair Clemmons, Lee Coppinger, Whitney Carter, Marsha Crowhurst, Stacey Hill, Olivia Armstrong, Anjelica Bennett, Garrett **Conwell**, Patrick Pring, Michael Bennett, Jennifer Bishop, Faith Dawson, Toni Renee Ingram, Donna Lawrence Givens, Tiffany Hansbrough, Sean Hollifield, Michael LeBlanc, Jennifer Loudon, Jeff Robinson, Antonio Rutledge, Scott Wolff, Jeannette Artus, Meagan Cherry, Sandy Smith, LaDonna Kiolbasa, Mary

Baquera, Felisha Nashabi, Maya Wang, Rong "Joanne" Cooley, Emma Dixon, Michele Majewski, Ashley Ripley, Kate Walker, Susan Butner, Sean Harding, Amanda Manlove, Sharon Mullen, Becky Weisbrodt, Cathy Putnam, Sara Noote, Allie Jones, Haley Smith, Amy Woodruff, Karen Kamtarin, Shahpar Fuchs Hritz, Kathleen Johnson, Faye (Linda) Yockey, Heather Bess, Angela Fields, Craig Maddox, Lynn Berry, Courtney Bourgoin, Jeremy Jones, Michael

Templeton, Alison Hastings, Lynn Mundy, Meaghan King, Amanda Gibson, Madison Nelson, Roberta (Rob) Sims, Beth May, Ela

#### **Not Present:**

Barclay, Samantha Halman, Michelle Jackson, Donald Taylor, Susan Davis, Jessamyn Engstrom, Steven Anuj Rastogi, Anuj Turner, Kimberly Lowe, Deni Martin, Robert Bordenstein, Sarah Brown, Jacquelyn Carroll, Chantry Pickert, Donald Johnston, Caroline Kelley, Emily Linski, Jamie Porter, Beth McKeever-Burgett, Adam Johnson, Denise Williams, Tara Luffman, Josh Stiles, David Steffanick, Adam Graham, Kashif Griffin, Shore Osinski, Keegan Anderson, Matthew Charley, Myles Gracey, Lisa Higgins, Ed Sanders, Sara Watkins, Katelen Farst, Paige Cole, Victoria Jensen, Lena Mullane, Courtney Rall, Kathleen

#### **Guest:**

Brooks, Bari Hicks, Chris Kopstain, Eric Moore, Teea Rucker, Cleo Sierra, Bryn Smith, Janet

#### WELCOME

President, called meeting to order at 8:32am

- Welcome
  - Last meeting of year

#### NEW and OLD BUSINESS ANNOUNCEMENTS

- Lynn Maddox Secretary for 2021-2022 year
- Employee Hardship Fund Kroger Card
  - These funds go directly to support the Faculty and Staff Hardship Fund for those employees experience temporary hardships.
  - More information can be found her for both Kroger Community Rewards and the Faculty and staff Hardship Fund, <u>https://www.vumc.org/health-wellness/news-</u> resource-articles/faculty-and-staff-hardship-fund

#### **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

Communications Committee, Jeff Louden and Ashley Majewshi Co-Chairs

- Next meeting Friday June 18 at 10 a.m.
- Interested as a Communications co-chair for next year? Contact Jeff or Ashley
- Events Committee, Amanda King and Jennifer Bennett Co-Chairs
  - Next Meeting Tuesday June 22 at 1pm
  - Virtual Coffee Break
    - Will continue through summer Dates: TBD
    - o Coffee Break registration <u>https://www.vanderbilt.edu/usac/events/events.php</u>
  - Jingle in July
    - Fundraising event for employee assistance program
    - $\circ$  Prizes from athletic dept

Membership Committee, Cathy Weisbrodt and Lynn Hastings Co-Chairs

- June Birthdays
- Meet a USAC Member Kate Ripley, Executive Assistant in Information Technology Rules and Administration, Sean Butner and David Stiles Co-Chairs
  - No Updates

Staff Life, Amanda Harding and Jamie Linski, Co-Chairs

- Next Meeting June 23 1pm
- Learning and Engagement
  - o <u>https://hr.vanderbilt.edu/ele/workshopinfo.php</u>

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) – Denise Johnson & Antonio Robinson Co-Chairs

- Next Meeting: June 24 2021 9a.m. zoom
- Heritage Calendar Poster
  - $\circ$  June LGBYQI+ Pride Month
  - Juneteenth Freedom Celebrations

#### **KEYNOTE SPEAKER**

Cleo Rucker, Chief Human Resource Officer

- 10 years at VU
- Tanya Brown replaced Cleo's previous role
  - First point of contact for all employees
  - HR Consulting <u>https://hr.vanderbilt.edu/hr\_consultants/index.php</u>
- There will a broad announcement on vaccine requirement tomorrow
- <u>https://www.vanderbilt.edu/student-access/how\_to/get\_accommodations/index.php</u>

#### **USAC Annual Awards**

#### • Committee Members of the Year

- o Stacey Crowhurst
- Faith Bishop
- Committee of the Year
  - Jennifer Bennett
  - Amanda King
  - Karen Dolan Award
    - Tiffany Lawrence Givins
- Officer Awards
  - Michael Pring, Treasurer
  - o Jeannette Wolff, Secretary
  - o Tiffany Lawrence Givings, Vice President

# **Class Photo**

## **CLOSING REMARKS**

Tiffany Givins, President

- Next Meeting:
  - o Tuesday, July 13, 2021
  - Time: 8:30 am
  - Location: Zoom

## Meeting was adjourned at 9:35 am.

Our Vision: Through communication, consultation, and service, the Council will promote a strong partnership among the staff, faculty, students, and administration of Vanderbilt University.