Offices

Offices are in the Stevenson Science Center unless specified.

Phone Numbers

Vanderbilt area code is 615.
On campus, use last five digits.

Email

Abbreviated addresses end in
@vanderbilt.edu

Contact

Physics & Astronomy Department
Vanderbilt University
PMB 401807
2401 Vanderbilt Place
Nashville, TN 37240-1807

Phone: 
Fax: 
Email: 
(615) 322-2828
(615) 343-7263
physics-astronomy

Physics and Astronomy Faculty

Andreas Berlind
Assistant Professor
PhD, The Ohio State University, 2001
Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship 2010
National Science Foundation CAREER award 2012
Office: SC 6916, Phone: 343-2184
Email: a.berlind@vanderbilt.edu
Kirill Bolotin
Assistant Professor
PhD, Cornell University, 2006
Office: SC 6522, Phone: 909.547.4552
Email: kirill.bolotin@vanderbilt.edu
Steven Csorna
Associate Professor
PhD, Columbia University, 1974
Office: SC 6638B, Phone: 322-6546
Email: steven.e.csorna@vanderbilt.edu
David Ernst
Professor
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1970
Texas A&M University, Association of Former Students Outstanding Teacher Award, 1983
American Physical Society, Fellow, 1985-present
University of Frankfurt, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft Professor, 1988 - 1991
Vanderbilt University, Alexander Heard Distinguished Professor, 2002-2003
Vanderbilt University, Affirmative Action and Diversity Initiative Award, 2005
National Society of Black Physicists, Fellow, 2009-present
Society for the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science, Distinguished Professional Mentor Award, 2011
Southeast Section of the American Physical Society, Francis G. Slack Award, 2011
American Physical Society, Daniel Nicholson Medal for Human Outreach, 2012
Vanderbilt, Organization of Black Graduate and Professional Students, The Distinguished Faculty Award, 2013
Office: SC 6605, Phone: 343-0483
Email: david.j.ernst@vanderbilt.edu
John Gore
Professor
PhD, University of London, 1976
Fellow of the American association for the advancement of science
Fellow of the American institute of medical and biological engineering
Fellow of the International society for magnetic resonance in medicine
Fellow of the Institute of physics (uk)
Member of National Academy of Engineering
Gold Medal, International society for magnetic resonance in medicine
Office: R1302 Medical Center North, Phone: 322-8357
Email: john.gore@vanderbilt.edu
Victoria Greene
Stevenson Professor of Physics
Senior Associate Dean, College of Arts and Science

PhD, Yale University, 1992
Office: SC 6401, Phone: 343-0657
Email: senta.v.green@vanderbilt.edu
Richard Haglund
Stevenson Professor of Physics
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1976
Fellow of the American Physical Society (2009)in the Division of Materials Physics
Office: SC 6422, Phone: 322-7964
Email: richard.haglund@vanderbilt.edu
Dennis Hall
Professor of Physics and Professor of Electrical Engineering
Vice Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School

PhD, University of Tennessee, 1976
Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS)
Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA)
Fellow of the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE)
Office: 105 Kirkland Hall, Phone: 322-2809
Email: dennis.g.hall@vanderbilt.edu
Joseph Hamilton
Landon C. Garland Distinguished Professor of Physics
PhD, Indiana University, 1958
Fellow of the American Physical Society
Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
Alexander von Humboldt Prize 1979 from Federal Republic of Germany,
Beams Award for Research 1974,
Pegram Award for Teaching 1988,
Slack Award for Service 2008 from SESAPS,
Award for International Cooperation from the American Association for the Advancement of Science,
Award for International Scientific and Technological Cooperation with the People's Republic China 2003,
Flerov Prize for research, Russia,
Eight Honorary Doctor Degrees.
Office: 6413B Stevenson, Phone: 322-2456
Email: j.h.hamilton@vanderbilt.edu
Kelly Holley-Bockelmann
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Michigan, 1999
Office: 6912 Stevenson, Phone: 343-2153
Email: k.holley@vanderbilt.edu
Shane Hutson
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Virginia, 2000
Society of Toxicology Bridging Award, 2013
Jeffrey Nordhaus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, College of Arts & Science, Vanderbilt University, 2007
National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, 2006
Office: 6835 Stevenson, Phone: 343-9980
Email: shane.hutson@vanderbilt.edu
Will Johns
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Colorado, 1995
Office: 6914 Stevenson, Phone: 343-8295
Email: will.johns@vanderbilt.edu
Thomas Kephart
Professor
PhD, Northeastern University, 1981
Fellow of the American Physical Society
Office: 6609 Stevenson, Phone: 322-4435
Email: thomas.w.kephart@vanderbilt.edu
Charles Maguire
Professor
PhD, Yale University, 1973
Fellow of the American Physical Society (1997)
Office: 6414 Stevenson, Phone: 322-2634
Email: charles.f.maguire@vanderbilt.edu
Volker Oberacker
Professor
PhD, Goethe Universität, 1977
DOE Grand Challenge Award, High-Performance Computing and Communications Program, project entitled "The Quantum Structure of Matter", Vanderbilt - Oak Ridge Nat. Lab. - UT Knoxville collaboration, 1992
Award for "The best Ph. D. thesis written at the Goethe University of Frankfurt in 1977 ", awarded in 1978 by the Association of Friends and Supporters of the Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Office: 6625 Stevenson, Phone: 322-5035
Email: volker.e.oberacker@vanderbilt.edu
Sokrates Pantelides
University Distinguished Professor of Physics and Engineering
William and Nancy McMinn Professor of Physics
PhD, University of Illinois, 1973
Fellow of the American Physical Society
Fellow of the Materials Research Society
Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
Office: 6631 Stevenson, Phone: 343-4321
Email: pantelides@vanderbilt.edu
David W. Piston
Louise B. McGavock Chair and Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics; Professor of Physics; Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Director of W.M. Keck Free-Electron Laser Center
PhD, University of Illinois, 1989
Fellow of the American Physical Society (2000)
Beckman Young Investigator (1993)
Office: 747D Light Hall, Phone: 322-7030
Email: dave.piston@vanderbilt.edu
Akunuri Ramayya
Professor
PhD, Indiana University, 1964
Office: 6413D Stevenson, Phone: 322-2620
Email: a.v.ramayya@vanderbilt.edu
Erin Rericha
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Texas at Austin, 2004
Office: 6416 Stevenson, Phone: 322-3034
Email: erin.rericha@vanderbilt.edu
Robert Scherrer
Professor
Department Chair
PhD, University of Chicago, 1986
Fellow of the American Physical Society
5th Prize, Gravity Research Essay Competition (2007)
Klopsteg Memorial Award (2010)
Office: 6301 Stevenson, Phone: 322-2828
Email: robert.scherrer@vanderbilt.edu
Paul Sheldon
Professor
PhD, University of California, Berkeley, 1986
Fellow of the American Physical Society
Office: 6907C Stevenson, Phone: 343-0484
Email: paul.sheldon@vanderbilt.edu
Keivan Stassun
Professor
PhD, University of Wisconsin, 2000
National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2004)
Research Corporation Cottrell Scholar (2006)
Ford Foundation Fellow (2007)
Fletcher Foundation Fellow (2009)
American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow (2012)
Office: 6914 Stevenson, Phone: 322-2455
Email: keivan.stassun@vanderbilt.edu
Norman Tolk
Professor
PhD, Columbia University, 1966
Office: 6512 Stevenson, Phone: 322-2786
Email: norman.tolk@vanderbilt.edu
Sait Umar
Professor
PhD, Yale University, 1985
Helmholtz Visiting Fellow Frankfurt/GSI, January - May, 2010
DOE Grand Challenge Award: High Performance Computing and Communications; The Quantum Structure of Matter (with ORNL,1992)
Office: 6626 Stevenson, Phone: 322-2459
Email: umar@compsci.cas.vanderbilt.edu
Kalman Varga
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Debrecen, 1996
Office: 6638A Stevenson, Phone: 343-9278
Email: kalman.varga@vanderbilt.edu
Julia Velkovska
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
PhD, SUNY Stony Brook, 1997
Kavli Frontiers Fellow 2010
Alfred P.Sloan Fellow 2007
Department of Energy Outstanding Junior Investigator 2004
Office: 6424 Stevenson, Phone: 322-0656
Email: julia.velkovska@vanderbilt.edu
Thomas Weiler
Professor
PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1976
1985–1988 (tenuring), Department of Energy (DoE) Outstanding Junior Investigator,
2002- Fellow of the American Physical Society (Div. of Particles & Fields)
2003 and 2008, Invited by Swedish Academy to nominate for the Nobel Prize
2006 Distinguished Alumni Fellow Award, University of Wisconsin Physics Department
2008 Alexander von Humboldt Senior Research Career Award
2001-08 Elected member of the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (FNAL) Board of Directors
Office: 6613 Stevenson, Phone: 322-0005
Email: tom.weiler@vanderbilt.edu
David Weintraub
Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Director, Program in Communication of Science & Technology

PhD, University of California, Los Angeles, 1989
Office: 6910 Stevenson, Phone: 322-5034
Email: david.a.weintraub@vanderbilt.edu
John Wikswo, Jr.
Gordon A. Cain University Professor
A.B. Learned Professor of Living State Physics

PhD, Stanford University, 1975
Office: 6809 Stevenson, Phone: 343-4124
Email: john.wikswo@vanderbilt.edu
Yaqiong Xu
Assistant Professor in the department of Physics and Astronomy, and in the department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
PhD, Rice University, 2006
National Science Foundation CAREER Award for 2011
Office: 338 Featheringill, Phone: 322-2259
Email: yaqiong.xu@vanderbilt.edu

Copyright 2010, Vanderbilt University